Frequently Asked Questions
|(BOT's Refund Policy)|
We also ask that you cover your range fee, which will vary based on the range we're using (so contact us for info).
All fees must be applied by the start of class.
Currently we keep our classes to a maximum of three participants and we prefer a minimum of two. Such groups can be friends, family members, coworkers, all male, all female, or a combination of any of these. You can even set up your own group for a private class. Check here for guidelines on individual (private) classes.
Black Oak Training, Inc. is approved by the Butte and Tehama County Sheriff's Offices and the State of California to qualify county residents who have acquired permission to get a California Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) permit.
California currently does not recognize permits from any other states, although a few states recognize the California CCW. (You may wish to review the NRA's Institute for Legislative Action's page on gun laws by state. Click the VIEW PROFILE link for the state of interest for current gun-related law and CCW reciprocity.)
In Butte County: on 07-02-2018 the BCSO began using an online-only process for new and renewal CCW applications and for modifications such as adding or removing a gun. They no longer accepting paper-based applications.
One of the advantages of this change is that you'll be able to check the status of your application, online, at will.
To start the process, access the online tool (called Permitium) from the Butte County Sheriff's Office website (this link goes to the Online Forms page). Click the small, square "Get a CCW" icon on the right. You'll need some documentation scanned and ready to upload; the instructions are there. (Once you've passed the written and practical tests with us, BOT provides your Proof of Exam form as an uploadable PDF document.)
In Tehama County: visit the Tehama County "Concealed Weapons" webpage for requirements and other information on how to apply for a new CCW or renew an existing one in that county.
Wait---I don't have a working scanner (or any version of this: "I'm trying to do this over a cellphone!" OR "My mouse is on the fritz!" or even "Computers are just NOT my thing.") How do I handle this online process?
If you decide you want a hand, at least the first time you go through this, you can contact Black Oak Training for a half-hour computer session in which we'll talk you through filling in the application and submitting it with the required documentation (which we'll scan for you). Such sessions must be by appointment and at our location. (Because we don't want to now be awash in requests we're charging $20 for our time.)
Remember, though, that no amount of computer coaching can guarantee that your application will be accepted. That's up to you and your history.
Once your background check is complete your notice of approval to proceed with training is good for 90 days. Your very next step upon receipt of approval is to call Black Oak Training for a CCW class. The outcome of this is a) a better-informed and up-to-date you, and b) an instructor-signed Proof of Exam, which is good for six months.
You must take your CCW class before your approval expires, and then complete your application before your PoE expires.
BOT provides your Proof of Exam form as an uploadable PDF document.
Prior to registering for our CCW course you must be competent in the safe handling, loading, unloading, and firing of your handgun(s). If you are lacking in any of these skills, contact us for private training so that we may bring you up to the necessary skill level. One of the objectives of our CCW course is help you be comfortable carrying a loaded, concealed handgun in public. We also want to improve your confidence in your ability to defend your life or the life of another.
Both Butte and Tehama Counties allow up to four handguns on your permit. This means that in addition to your primary carry handgun you may qualify up to three additional handguns during the class.
To add a handgun after your class you must make another trip to your Sheriff's Office with a revised Proof of Exam form. To get that, make an appointment for one hour of BOT instructor time at the range. Here's info on that.
Classroom sessions: street clothes.
Range sessions: wear comfortable, weather-appropriate clothing. TWo of the ranges we use are outdoors. Another is an indoor range, but inside temperatures reflect (and sometimes seem to amplify) those outside.
Don't forget your concealement garment: something long enough to conceal a holstered handgun.
Regardless of gender, beware low necklines! That “flying brass” is very, very hot and has been known to land between a shirt/collar and your skin.
For the same reason, wear closed-toe shoes and a brimmed hat (usually a billed hat. We sell those, BTW: $20, but let us know ahead of time so we bring one to the range.)
This is lengthy so we've put it here.
No problem! Click here for our contact info. If we don't have an immediate answer we will track it down for you.